• Rachel Penate

The Things We Cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer

Updated: Apr 10



TITLE: The Things we Cannot Say

AUTHOR: Kelly Rimmer

PUBLISHER: Graydon House

YR PUBLISHED: 2019

STARS: ★★★★.5


SUMMARY: “In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Little by little, injustice by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina’s tiny rural village, its families, are divided by fear and hate. Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer creates an emotional and finely wrought narrative that weaves together two women’s stories into a tapestry of perseverance, loyalty, love and honor.” (Adapted from Goodreads)⁣

REVIEW: I’ve been avoiding this genre for a long time. WWII fiction is one that easily paves a path to burn out. There is just so much out there, and I fear I’ve already read the best. ⁣

Well, Kelly Rimmer - WAY TO PROVE ME WRONG! You’ve surprised me and sufficiently squashed my belief that the creativity behind these stories have all run out. ⁣

★The Things we Cannot Say is an absolutely beautiful story. ★ Flipping back and forth between the present day and the turning events of WWII Poland, this novel is full of mystery, discovery of self, heartfelt connection, and adventure. It was sufficiently compulsive, and it’s well-written narrative allowed me to binge it on audiobook in just a few short days. ⁣

In addition to the riveting storyline from WWII, I was also impressed by Rimmer’s ability to weave in the struggles surrounding living with autism, and also pen a beautiful commentary on the potential for peace surrounding aging and death. ⁣

Overall, a new Top 10 contender for this genre. ⁣

PERFECT FOR FANS OF The Nightingale and We Were the Lucky Ones.⁣

SENSITIVITY WARNINGS: WWII Loss and hardship (including murder) nothing too graphic. ⁣


Like what you see here? Check out my Index of Book Reviews for more recommendations!


*Rating Scale: https://www.bookmamareviews.com/post/how-i-rate-my-books

©2019 by Book Mama Reviews. Proudly created with Wix.com