• Rachel Penate

The Grace Year by Kim Liggett

Updated: Apr 10


TITLE: The Grace Year

AUTHOR: Kim Liggett

PUBLISHER: Wednesday Books

YR PUBLISHED: 2019

GENRE: YA Dystopian

STARS: ★★★★.5


SUMMARY: "In Garner County, girls are told they have the power to lure grown men from their beds, to drive women mad with jealousy. That’s why they’re banished for their sixteenth year, to release their magic into the wild so they can return purified and ready for marriage. But not all of them will make it home alive.


Sixteen-year-old Tierney James dreams of a better life—a society that doesn’t pit friend against friend or woman against woman, but as her own grace year draws near, she quickly realizes that it’s not just the brutal elements they must fear. It’s not even the poachers in the woods, men who are waiting for a chance to grab one of the girls in order to make a fortune on the black market. Their greatest threat may very well be each other." (Adapted from Goodreads)


REVIEW: And from the left corner of the ring, to contend with every other genre I love comes YA DYSTOPIAN!! (*crowd goes wild*) Gosh… I forgot how much I love this genre. There is something just so inspiring about young adult characters that find within themselves a quiet heroism, and then let that heroism seep into everything and everyone they meet.


UGH. JUST SO, SO good.


★The Grace Year is everything I love about YA dystopian fiction and this story shines as an absolute favorite of the year. ★I loved everything about Tierney (the protagonist). I loved her family, her personality, her strength and courage. She’s a BA character and for me definitely joins the ranks of Katniss Everdeen and Tris Prior. If only, if only Kim Liggett would find it in herself to write a sequel! Gah!


Overall, a really quick and easy to read, yet deeply thematic and lyrical story. Perfect for fans of Divergent, The Hunger Games, and Handmaid’s Tale.


SENSITIVITY WARNINGS: murder, dystopian society, gender inequality, mental and physical abuse.

Like what you see here? Check out my Index of Book Reviews for more recommendations! *Rating Scale: https://www.bookmamareviews.com/post/how-i-rate-my-books

©2019 by Book Mama Reviews. Proudly created with Wix.com