• Rachel Penate

Dear Edward by Ann Napolitano

Updated: Apr 10



TITLE: Dear Edward

AUTHOR: Ann Napolitano

PUBLISHER: Dial Press

YR PUBLISHED: 2020

STARS: ★★★★★


SUMMARY: "One summer morning, twelve-year-old Edward Adler, his beloved older brother, his parents, and 183 other passengers board a flight in Newark headed for Los Angeles. Tragically, during this flight, the plane crashes. Edward is the sole survivor.

Edward's story captures the attention of the nation, but he struggles to find a place for himself in a world without his family. He continues to feel that a piece of him has been left in the sky, forever tied to the plane and all of his fellow passengers.

Dear Edward is at once a transcendent coming-of-age story, a multidimensional portrait of an unforgettable cast of characters, and a breathtaking illustration of all the ways a broken heart learns to love again." (Adapted from Goodreads)


REVIEW: There is a profound effect that happens when a book hits you in just the right way at just the right point in your life. Loss and grief are a struggle particular to humanity - no one (no matter how hard we wish and pray) is devoid of it. But, loss (especially of those we love deeply), has such a steep learning curve.


★ Dear Edward is a beautiful and simple, yet deeply heartfelt book about loss.★ No only does Ann Napolitano deliver characters so believable they feel like next door neighbors, she offers a main protagonist I want to throw my arm around and love forever. Edward felt like a little brother I was learning how to console as he dealt with an unfathomable reality.


I’m grateful for this story. It ripped open my heart to a greater capacity for empathy. Especially to those who have lost loved ones in such tragic ways. Well done, Ann Napolitano, you’ve crafted a beautiful story. One I will remember for a long time.


Overall, a perfect read if you’re looking for one that grasps with loss and our human capacity to endure.


PERFECT FOR FANS OF Ask, Again Yes and Long Bright River.


SENSITIVITY WARNINGS: tragic airplane crash, experience of tragic loss from about every relationship (parent, sibling, child, significant other, etc.)

Like what you see here? Check out my Index of Book Reviews for more recommendations!


*Rating Scale: https://www.bookmamareviews.com/post/how-i-rate-my-books

©2019 by Book Mama Reviews. Proudly created with Wix.com